Site is under construction [Old site version]
The most cited biological Institute in Russia *

Animal Cell Culture Laboratory

Animal Cell Culture Laboratory was founded in 2001. That was one of the first core facilities of the new Laboratory Building B. The laboratory promotes cell culture researches of all departments and training for students of Faculty of Bioengineering and Bioinformatics. The head of the laboratory is Alexander Kuimov, PhD.

Research areas

Our own scientific research is a part of scientific program of the Department of nucleoprotein chemistry and biochemistry. It is based on a study of tankyrase, a signaling protein of animals and human being which catalyzes poly(ADP-ribosyl)ation, a posttranslational modification of various proteins.

Research results

Cloning of tankyrase 2 out of human breast tumor

Soon after publication of the first article about discovery of tankyrase 1 [Smith S. et al, 1998, Science] several laboratories reported about cloning of tankyrase 2 cDNA. One of them was the Laboratory of Molecular Immunology (now the Department of Molecular Immunology) where A.Kuimov worked thanadays. The cloning was performed as a part of project on research of tumor antigens using a system of bacteria and phages. One of the products was tankyrase 2 [Kuimov et al., 2001, Genes Immun]. To go on studying the human cell culture facilities were necessary, but they were available in neither the Laboratory of Molecular Immunology nor the new Laboratory Building B as a whole. This is why the new core facility named Animal Cell Culture Laboratory was created with A.Kuimov as its head.

Tissue localization of tankyrase 2

In the beginning of history of the new laboratory its main scientific problem was the localization of tankyrase 2 in human tissues. For this purpose the isoenzyme-specific antibody was developed. The highest level of tankyrase 2 was found in the epithelium of renal tubules [Sidorova N. et al, 2006, Cell Tissue Res]. Besides the human epithelial kidney cells of 293 line was established as the best model to study a function of tankyrase 2.

Isolation and purification of tankyrase 2

The 293 cells were then used as a source for tankyrase 2 isolation and purification. The enzyme was found tightly bound to other proteins in a huge partly soluble complex [Sidorova et al., 2008, Biochem (Mosc)].

Discovery of the new enzymatic reaction

Activity of tankyrase 2 led to disassembly of the complex. A substrate for poly(ADP-ribosyl)ation there was mannose-binding lectin, a serum protein which interacts with the cellular keratin 1, the basic component of the complex purified out of kidney cells [Sidorova et al, 2011, Mol.Cel.Biochem.]. Tankyrase catalyzes its posttranslational modification, what inactivates the lectin, and its complex with keratin 1 divides into separate components.

Grants and projects

Grant Support

  • Grant 09-04-00962 of Russian Foundation for Basic Research – Study of biochemistry of human cytoplasmic tankyrase – 2009-2011
  • Grant 06-04-49388 of Russian Foundation for Basic Research – Study of tankyrase out of human kidney – 2006-2008
  • Grant 03-04-48835 of Russian Foundation for Basic Research – Physicochemical and functional properties of tankyrase 2, signaling molecule regulated by oncoproteins – 2003-2005
  • Grant 00-04-48300 of Russian Foundation for Basic Research – Structure and function of new isoform of tankyrase, an enzyme associated with telomeres, and its putative participation in a malignant transformation - 2000-2002

Collaborations with other institutions

  • M.M.Shemyakin and Y.A.Ovchinnikov Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry, Ziganshin R.H., Skoblov Y.S., Egorova N.S., Sukhacheva E.A. – Research of tankyrase 2 (synthesis of peptides and radioactive compounds, immunization, mass-spectrometry) – 2000-2011
  • I.M. Sechenov the First Moscow State Medical University, Dyuzheva T.G. – Research and development of methods of stimulation of hepatic regeneration – 2011-2012
  • V.V.Zakusov Institute of Pharmacology, Seredenin S.B., Antipova T.A., Voronin M.V. – Study of interaction of afobazole with sigma-1 receptors in brain cells – 2007-2009
  • P.A.Herzen Moscow Research Oncological Institute, Zavalishina L.E., Frank G.I. – Study of tankyrase 2 expression in human tumors, 2003-2006
  • Russian Pediatric Clinical Hospital, Nazhimov V.P. – Study of tankyrase 2 expression in human organs and tissues – 2003-2006
  • M.F.Vladimirsky Moscow Regional Research Clinical Institute, Korsakova N.A. - Study of tankyrase 2 expression in human organs and tissues – 2003-2006
  • Medical Genetic Scientific Center of Russian Academy of Medical Science, Terekhov S.M. – Study of tankyrase 2 expression in human cell lines – 2002-2003

Prizes

Memory medal “Moscow State University 250 years”.

Educational activities

Training of students of Faculty of Bioengineering and Bioinformatics on cell culture techniques in the courses “Gene Engineering” and “Cytogenetics”. Tutorship.

Department blog

  • Сервис для сотрудников и студентов Created: Friday, 18 November 2011 Author: Алексей Нестеренко

    Лаборатория предоставляет услуги по работе с культурами клеток и имеет соответствующее оборудование. Чтобы воспользоваться нашими услугами, изучите информацию по ссылке и свяжитесь с заведующим лаборатории.

  • Tankyrase, a signaling protein of animals and human being Created: Friday, 18 November 2011 Author: Куимов Александр Николаевич

    A description of the scientific problem studied by the laboratory.

Selected papers Recent papers
  1. Sidorova N.N., Kurchashova S.Y., Yarahmedov T.Y., Ziganshin R.H., Kuimov A.N. (2011) Poly(ADP-ribosyl)ation of mannose-binding lectin out of human kidney cells. Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry, 352 (1): 231-238.

  2. Seredenin S.B., Antipova T.A., Voronin M.V., Kurchashova S.Y., Kuimov A.N. (2009) Interaction of Afobazole with sigma(1)-Receptors. Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine, 148 (1): 42-44.

  3. Sidorova N.N., Fadeev A.O., Kuimov A.N. (2008) Isolation and physicochemical properties of tankyrase of human embryonic kdney cells of line 293. Biochemistry-Moscow, 73 (3): 289-295.

  4. Sidorova N.N., Zavalishina L., Kurchashova S., Korsakova N., Nazhimov V., Frank G., Kuimov A.N. (2006) Immunohistochemical detection of tankyrase 2 in human breast tumors and normal renal tissue. Cell and Tissue Research, 323 (1): 137-145.

  5. Kuimov A.N., Kuprash D.V., Petrov V.N., Vdovichenko K.K., Scanlan M.J., Jongeneel C.V., Lagarkova M.A., Nedospasov S.A. (2001) Cloning and characterization of TNKL, a member of tankyrase gene family. Genes and Immunity, 2 (1): 52-55.

Сайт в стадии разработки [Старая версия сайта]
Самый цитируемый биологический институт РФ *

Научно-методическая группа культур животных клеток

Лаборатория культур животных клеток основана в 2001 г. как одно из первых научно-методических подразделений нового Лабораторного корпуса Б. Ее задача – обеспечить возможности ведения культур клеток животных и человека, для которых требуется тщательная изоляция от бактерий и дрожжей, а также особое стерильное помещение (бокс) и оборудование (ламинарный шкаф, СО2-инкубатор, азотное хранилище, автоклав, инвертированный микроскоп и др.). Основными пользователями являются сотрудники научных отделов, а также студенты и профессорско-преподавательский состав Факультета биоинженерии и биоинформатики (см раздел Сервис для сотрудников и студентов). С момента основания и до настоящего времени лабораторию возглавляет к.б.н. Куимов А.Н.

Основные направления исследований

Собственная программа научных исследований лаборатории, являющаяся частью плановых фундаментальных исследований отдела Химии и Биохимии Нуклеопротеидов, построена на изучении танкиразы, сигнального белка человека и животных.

Основные научные достижения

(i) Клонирование танкиразы-2 из опухоли молочной железы.

Вскоре после публикации первой статьи об открытии танкиразы 1 [Smith S. et al, 1998, Science] сразу несколько лабораторий сообщило о клонировании гена танкиразы-2. Одной из них была лаборатория молекулярной иммунологии (теперь отдел молекулярной иммунологии) НИИ ФХБ имени А.Н.Белозерского, в которой в то время работал к.б.н. Куимов А.Н. Клонирование было осуществлено в ходе выполнения проекта по выявлению опухолевых антигенов человека, одним из которых оказалась танкираза-2 [Kuimov et al., 2001, Genes Immun]. Клонирование было поставлено в бактериально-фаговой системе, а продолжение исследований требовало применения культур клеток человека, для ведения которых в лаборатории молекулярной иммунологии (как и во всем новом Лабораторном корпусе Б) отсутствовали технические возможности. Поэтому была организована новая научно-методическая лаборатория культур животных клеток, которую возглавил А.Н. Куимов.

(ii) Определение тканевой локализации танкиразы-2 у человека

В начале функционирования новой лаборатории основной задачей ее научной работы было определение тканевой локализации танкиразы-2. Для этого были получены антитела, специфичные для этого изофермента, с помощью которых установлено, что тканью, наиболее богатой танкиразой-2, является эпителий почечных канальцев [Sidorova N. et al, 2006, Cell Tissue Res]. Одновременно выяснилось, что наиболее удобной моделью для исследований функции танкиразы-2 являются клетки эмбриональной почки человека линии 293.

(iii) Выделение и очистка танкиразы-2

Культура клеток линии 293 была в дальнейшем использована как источник для разработки методов выделения и очистки танкиразы 2. Оказалось, что in vivo этот белок прочно связан с другими белками в большом частично растворимом комплексе [Sidorova et al., 2008, Biochem (Mosc)].

(iv) Открытие новой ферментативной реакции

Под действием танкиразы-2 комплекс белков, в состав которого входит и сам фермент, разрушается. Субстратом поли-ADP-рибозилирования в нем оказался лектин, связывающий маннозу, сывороточный белок, который способен взаимодействовать с клеточным белком кератином 1, основным компонентом комплекса, выделенного из клеток почки [Sidorova et al, 2011, Mol.Cel.Biochem.]. В результате посттрансляционной модификации, катализируемой танкиразой, лектин теряет функциональную активность, в том числе способность связывать кератин, что и приводит к разрушению комплекса этих белков.

Участие в научно-исследовательских проектах и грантовая поддержка

Грантовая поддержка

  • Грант 09-04-00962 Российского фонда фундаментальных исследований - «Исследования биохимии цитоплазматической танкиразы человека» - 2009-2011 гг.
  • Грант 06-04-49388 Российского фонда фундаментальных исследований - «Исследования танкиразы из почки человека» - 2006-2008 гг.
  • Грант 03-04-48835 Российского фонда фундаментальных исследований - «Физико-химические и функциональные свойства танкиразы-2, сигнальной молекулы, регулируемой онкобелками» - 2003-2005 гг.
  • Грант 00-04-48300 Российского фонда фундаментальных исследований - «Структура и функции новой изоформы танкиразы, фермента, ассоциированного с теломерами, и ее возможное участие в злокачественной трансформации» 2000-2002 гг.

Сотрудничество со сторонними организациями

  • Институт биоорганической химии имени М.М.Шемякина и Ю.А.Овчинникова, Зиганшин Р.Х., Скоблов Ю.С., Н.С.Егорова, Е.А.Сухачева – Исследования танкиразы 2 (синтез антигенных пептидов и радиоактивных соединений, иммунизация, масс-спектрометрия) – 2000-2011 гг.
  • Первый Московский Государственный Медицинский Университет им. И.М. Сеченова, Дюжева Т.Г. - Исследования и разработка методов стимуляции регенерации печени – 2011-2012 гг.
  • НИИ фармакологии имени В.В.Закусова РАМН, Середенин С.Б., Антипова Т.А., Воронин М.В. – Исследование взаимодействия афобазола с сигма-1 рецепторами клеток мозга – 2007-2009 гг.
  • Московский научно-исследовательский онкологический институт имени П.А.Герцена, Завалишина Л.Э., Франк Г.А. – Исследования экспрессии танкиразы 2 в опухолях человека – 2003-2006 гг.
  • Российская детская клиническая больница, Нажимов В.П. – Исследования экспрессии танкиразы 2 в органах и тканях человека – 2003-2006 гг.
  • Московский областной научно-исследовательский клинический институт имени М.Ф.Владимирского, Корсакова Н.А. – Исследования экспрессии танкиразы 2 в органах и тканях человека – 2003-2006 гг.
  • Медико-генетический научный центр РАМН, Терехов С.М. – Исследование экспрессии танкиразы 2 в культивируемых линиях клеток человека – 2002-2003 гг.

Награды и премии

Благодарность ректора и памятная медаль «Московский государственный университет 250 лет».

Педагогическая деятельность

Обеспечение работы клеточно-культуральных разделов практикумов Факультета биоинженерии и биоинформатики: «Генно-инженерные методы» и «Цитогенетика» (см. презентацию).

Руководство курсовыми и дипломными работами

  • Жожикашвили А. (БФ) – 2011-2012 гг.
  • Ярахмедов Т. (ФББ) – 2010-2011 гг.
  • Леушкин Е. (ФББ) – 2006-2007 гг.
  • Сорочкина А. (ФББ) – 2006-2007 гг.
  • Фадеев А. (ФББ) – 2005-2006 гг.
  • Хуторненко А. (ФББ) – 2004-2005 гг.
  • Черняева Е. (ФББ) – 2004-2005 гг.
  • Ожован С. (ФББ) – 2003-2004 гг.
  • Перцовская И. (ФББ) – 2002-2003 гг.
Все сотрудники отдела

Штатные сотрудники

Материалы раздела

Избранные статьи Все статьи
  1. Sidorova N.N., Kurchashova S.Y., Yarahmedov T.Y., Ziganshin R.H., Kuimov A.N. (2011) Poly(ADP-ribosyl)ation of mannose-binding lectin out of human kidney cells. Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry, 352 (1): 231-238.

  2. Seredenin S.B., Antipova T.A., Voronin M.V., Kurchashova S.Y., Kuimov A.N. (2009) Interaction of Afobazole with sigma(1)-Receptors. Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine, 148 (1): 42-44.

  3. Sidorova N.N., Fadeev A.O., Kuimov A.N. (2008) Isolation and physicochemical properties of tankyrase of human embryonic kdney cells of line 293. Biochemistry-Moscow, 73 (3): 289-295.

  4. Sidorova N.N., Zavalishina L., Kurchashova S., Korsakova N., Nazhimov V., Frank G., Kuimov A.N. (2006) Immunohistochemical detection of tankyrase 2 in human breast tumors and normal renal tissue. Cell and Tissue Research, 323 (1): 137-145.

  5. Kuimov A.N., Kuprash D.V., Petrov V.N., Vdovichenko K.K., Scanlan M.J., Jongeneel C.V., Lagarkova M.A., Nedospasov S.A. (2001) Cloning and characterization of TNKL, a member of tankyrase gene family. Genes and Immunity, 2 (1): 52-55.